Agenda for Meeting 26: August 31, 2016 in Philadelphia, PA

Meeting Location
Annenberg Public Policy Center
202 S. 36th St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Wednesday, August 31
9:00 – 9:15 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
Commission Chair
James Wagner, Ph.D.
Commission Vice Chair
9:15 – 9:30 a.m. Session 1: Video Message
Kathleen Sebelius, M.P.A.
Former Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
9:30 – 11:30 a.m. Session 2: Reflecting on the Past, Present, and Future Impact of National Bioethics Advisory Bodies
Robert Cook-Deegan, M.D.
School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Consortium for Science Policy and Outcomes
Arizona State University                            
Alexander M. Capron, L.L.B.
University Professor
Scott H. Bice Chair in Healthcare Law, Policy and Ethics
Professor of Law and Medicine, Keck School of Medicine
Co-Director, Pacific Center for Health Policy and Ethics
University of Southern California
Thomas H. Murray, Ph.D.
President Emeritus
The Hastings Center
Jonathan Montgomery, LL.M., HonFRCPCH
Professor of Health Care Law
University College London
Chair, Nuffield Council on Bioethics 
Chair, Health Research Authority
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Lunch Break
12:30 – 2:00 p.m. Session 3: Reflecting on the Past, Present, and Future Impact of National Bioethics Advisory Bodies
Ruth Macklin, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor Emerita          
Department of Epidemiology and Population Health
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Harold T. Shapiro, Ph.D.
President Emeritus 
Professor of Economics and Public Affairs 
Princeton University
Rebecca Dresser, J.D.
Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor of Law
Washington University in St Louis
Eugenijus Gefenas, M.D., Ph.D.
Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee of UNESCO
Professor at the Medical Faculty
Vilnius University, Lithuania
Director, Lithuanian Bioethics Committee
2:00 – 2:15 p.m. Break
2:15 – 3:30 p.m. Session 4: Roundtable Discussion
3:30 – 3:45 p.m. Concluding Remarks
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
James Wagner, Ph.D.

This is a work of the U.S. Government and is not subject to copyright protection in the United States. Foreign copyrights may apply.