Agenda for Meeting 25: May 3, 2016 in Washington, D.C.


Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel
1000 H St. N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001
May 3, 2016

Tuesday, May 3

9:00 – 9:15 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
Commission Chair

James Wagner, Ph.D.
Commission Vice Chair

9:15 – 11:00 a.m. Session 1:  Reflecting on the Past, Present, and Future Impact of National Bioethics Advisory Bodies

Jason L. Schwartz, Ph.D., M.B.E.
Assistant Professor of Health Policy and the History of Medicine
Yale University School of Public Health

James Childress, Ph.D., M.A.
University Professor and John Allen Hollingsworth Professor of Ethics
Department of Religious Studies
University of Virginia

Michael S. Gazzaniga, Ph.D.
SAGE Center for the Study of Mind
University of California Santa Barbara

Nandini Kumar, M.B.B.S., D.C.P., M.H.SC.
Former Deputy Director General Sr. Grade
Indian Council of Medical Research
Dr. TMA Pai Endowment Chair
Manipal University

11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Lunch Break

12:30 – 2:00 p.m. Session 2:  Reflecting on the Past, Present, and Future Impact of National Bioethics Advisory Bodies

Tom L. Beauchamp, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
Senior Research Scholar                                
Department of Philosophy and Kennedy Institute of Ethics
Georgetown University

Ruth Faden, Ph.D.
Andreas C. Dracopoulos Director and Philip Franklin Wagley Professor
Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics

Manuel H. Ruiz De Chávez
President, Board of Directors
Mexico National Commission of Bioethics (CONBIOÉTICA)

Patricia King, J.D.
Carmack Waterhouse Professor of Law, Medicine, Ethics, and Public Policy
Georgetown University Law School

2:00 – 3:00 p.m. Roundtable Discussion

3:00 – 3:15 p.m. Concluding Remarks

Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.

James Wagner, Ph.D.

This is a work of the U.S. Government and is not subject to copyright protection in the United States. Foreign copyrights may apply.