Agenda for Meeting Sixteen: Feb. 10-11, 2014, In Washington D.C.

Washington Marriott 
1221 22nd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
Monday, February 10
9:00 – 9:15 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
Commission Chair
James Wagner, Ph.D.
Commission Vice Chair
9:15 – 9:45 a.m. Session 1: Research and Integration Update & Member Discussion
9:45 – 10:15 a.m. Session 2: Application and Implications Update & Member Discussion
10:15 – 10:30 a.m. Break
10:30 – 11:30 a.m. Session 3: Professional Ethics and Professionalism in Neuroscience
Nicholas Steneck, Ph.D.
Director, Research Ethics and Integrity Program
Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research
Professor Emeritus of History
University of Michigan
David E. Wright, Ph.D.
Office of Research Integrity
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Peggy Mason, Ph.D.
Chair, Ethics Committee
Society for Neuroscience
Professor, Department of Neurobiology 
University of Chicago
11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. Lunch Break
12:45 – 2:00 p.m. Session 4: Ethics of Communication about Neuroscience Research by Scientists and Journalists
Ushma Neill, Ph.D.
Director, Office of the President
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
Editor at Large
Journal of Clinical Investigation
Stephen J.A. Ward, Ph.D.
Professor and Director
George S. Turnbull Center
School of Journalism and Communication
University of Oregon-Portland
Timothy Caulfield, LL.M., F.R.S.C., F.C.A.H.S.
Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy 
Professor in the Faculty of Law and the School of Public Health University of Alberta 
Eric Racine, Ph.D.  
Director, Neuroethics Research Unit 
Associate Research Professor
Institut de Recherches Cliniques de Montréal 
Associate Research Professor, Department of Medicine 
Université de Montréal
Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine and Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery, McGill University
2:00 – 2:15 p.m. Break
2:15 – 3:45 p.m. Session 5: Roundtable Discussion 
3:45 – 4:00 p.m. Closing Remarks
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
James Wagner, Ph.D. 
Tuesday, February 11
9:00 – 9:15 a.m. Opening Remarks
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
Commission Chair
James Wagner, Ph.D.
Commission Vice Chair
9:15 – 10:45 a.m. Session 6: Implementation Strategies for Ethics Integration & Roundtable Discussion 
Pamela Sankar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 
Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy 
Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics University of Pennsylvania
Barbara Herr Harthorn, Ph.D.
Director, NSF Center for Nanotechnology in Society 
Professor, Department of Anthropology
University of California, Santa Barbara
Mildred Cho, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor of Pediatrics
Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics
Stanford University
Erik Fisher, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Integration 
Center for Nanotechnology in Society
Assistant Professor, School of Politics and Global Studies and the Consortium for Science, Policy and Outcomes
Arizona State University
10:45 – 11:00 a.m. Break
11:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Session 7: Member Discussion 
12:15 – 12:30 p.m. Concluding Remarks
Amy Gutmann, Ph.D.
James Wagner, Ph.D.

This is a work of the U.S. Government and is not subject to copyright protection in the United States. Foreign copyrights may apply.