The President's Council on Bioethics click here to skip navigation



Table of Contents

The President's Council on Bioethics
Washington, D.C.
September 2005

Members of the President's Council on Bioethics


Leon R. Kass, M.D., Ph.D., Chairman.
Addie Clark Harding Professor, The College and the Committee on Social Thought, University of Chicago. Hertog Fellow, American Enterprise Institute.

Benjamin S. Carson, SR., M.D.
Professor and Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions.

Rebecca S. Dresser, J.D., M.S.
Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor of Law and Professor of Ethics in Medicine, Washington University, St. Louis.

Daniel W. Foster, M.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine, John Denis McGarry, Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Diabetes and Metabolic Research, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

Francis Fukuyama, Ph.D.
Bernard L. Schwartz Professor of International Political Economy, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University.

Michael S. Gazzaniga, Ph.D.
David T. McLaughlin Distinguished University Professor, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Director of the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience, Dartmouth College.

Robert P. George, J.D., D.Phil.
McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence, Director of the James Madison Program in American Ideals and Institutions, Princeton University.

Mary Ann Glendon, J.D., M. Comp. L.
Learned Hand Professor of Law, Harvard University.

Alfonso Gómez-Lobo, Dr. Phil.
Ryan Family Professor of Metaphysics and Moral Philosophy, Georgetown University.

William B. Hurlbut, M.D.
Consulting Professor in Human Biology, Stanford University.

Charles Krauthammer, M.D.
Syndicated Columnist.

Peter A. Lawler, Ph.D.
Chairman of the Department of Government and International Studies, Dana Professor of Government, Berry College.

Paul McHugh, M.D.
University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. Professor, Department of Mental Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University.

Gilbert C. Meilaender, Ph.D.
Phyllis & Richard Duesenberg Chair in Christian Ethics, Valparaiso University.

Janet D. Rowley, M.D.
Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology, and Human Genetics, Pritzker School of Medicine, University of Chicago.

Michael J. Sandel, D.Phil.
Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Government,
Harvard University.

Diana J. Schaub, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman of the Department of Political Science, Loyola College in Maryland.


Next Chapter Right Arrow


  - The President's Council on Bioethics -  
Home Site Map Disclaimers Privacy Notice Accessibility NBAC HHS