The President's Council on Bioethics click here to skip navigation


Controversies in the Determination of Death

The President's Council on Bioethics
Washington, D.C.
January 2009

Members of the President's Council on Bioethics

Edmund D. Pellegrino, M.D., Chairman.
Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Medical Ethics, and Adjunct Professor of Philosophy, Georgetown University

Floyd E. Bloom, M.D.
Professor Emeritus in the Molecular and Integrative Neuroscience Department at The Scripps Research Institute

Benjamin S. Carson, SR., M.D.
The Benjamin S. Carson, Sr., M.D., and Dr. Evelyn Spiro, R.N., Professor of Pediatric Neurosurgery, Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery, and Professor of Neurosurgery, Oncology, Plastic Surgery, and Pediatrics, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Rebecca S. Dresser, J.D., M.S.
Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor of Law and Professor of Ethics in Medicine, Washington University, St. Louis

Nicholas N. Eberstadt, Ph.D.
Henry Wendt Chair in Political Economy, American Enterprise Institute

Jean B. Elshtain, Ph.D.
Laura Spelman Rockefeller Professor of Social and Political Ethics, University of Chicago , and Thomas and Dorothy Leavey Chair in the Foundation of American Freedom, Georgetown University

Daniel W. Foster, M.D.
John Denis McGarry, Ph.D., Distinguished Chair in Diabetes and Metabolic Research, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

Michael S. Gazzaniga, Ph.D.
Director of Sage Center for the Study of Mind, University of California, Santa Barbara

Robert P. George, J.D., D.Phil.
McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence and Director of the James Madison Program in American Ideals and Institutions, Princeton University

Alfonso Gómez-Lobo, Dr. Phil.
Ryan Family Professor of Metaphysics and Moral Philosophy, Georgetown University

William B. Hurlbut, M.D.
Consulting Professor, Neurology and Neurological Sciences, Stanford Medical Center, Stanford University

Donald W. Landry, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine, Director of the Division of Experimental Therapeutics, and Chair, Department of Medicine, Columbia University

Peter A. Lawler, Ph.D.
Dana Professor and Chair of the Department of Government and International Studies, Berry College

Paul McHugh, M.D.
University Distinguished Service Professor of Psychiatry, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Gilbert C. Meilaender, Ph.D.
Richard and Phyllis Duesenberg Professor of Christian Ethics, Valparaiso University

Janet D. Rowley, M.D.
Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology, and of Human Genetics, Pritzker School of Medicine, University of Chicago

Diana J. Schaub, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science, Loyola College

Carl E. Schneider, J.D.
Chauncey Stillman Professor of Ethics, Morality, and the Practice of Law, and Professor of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan


Next Chapter Right Arrow


  - The President's Council on Bioethics -  
Home Site Map Disclaimers Privacy Notice Accessibility NBAC HHS